LiDAR and Liriodendrons - Deep Creek Watershed

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

ianb

LiDAR and Liriodendrons - Deep Creek Watershed

Post by ianb » Wed May 26, 2010 5:31 pm

Everyone,

I spent a few days with my Dad in the Deep Creek watershed in the Smokies this past weekend and we found some notable trees that might be of interest to ENTS.

As a first-time poster, I should introduce myself first. I'm a graduate student at UNC in their Curriculum for the Environment and Ecology. My research regards forest growth rates on abandoned agricultural lands in Eastern North Carolina, and I'm using the State LiDAR dataset for my research. I've had plans to go backpacking with my Dad in the Smokies for a while, and I decided to extract some tall-tree LiDAR points near our route and bring a tape and clinometer along. I told my dad we'd be doing some "recreational research".

After setting camp on Saturday afternoon, we wandered up Fork Ridge Trail to the first point that I had picked out, which indicated canopy heights of 189' only a few hundred meters from the trail on a steep hillside. After sliding off the ridge we quickly transitioned from the short Quercus montana - Kalmia latifolia ridgetop through a thicket of Rhododendron to a small rich cove dominated by Liriodendron and Aesculus. At the center of the bowl-shaped cove was a small seep lined by giants - even for oldgrowth standards. Five large Liriodendrons >12' cbh towered above the surrounding forest.
P1000036.jpg
We took three height measurements on the largest of the giants, an 18.4' cbh tree with a flawlessly straight bole unbranched to at least 80 feet. Not bringing a laser rangefinder with us, we were limited to using the Tangent-baseline method with a slope correction on the baseline for our heights. All of our measurements came in above 195' (averaging a marginally-unbelievable 201.9')
fork_ridge_poplar3.jpg