A twin oak in Arkansas

Forums discussing individual tree species, tree families across their range, and tree identification questions & guides.

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

Jess Riddle

A twin oak in Arkansas

Post by Jess Riddle » Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:43 pm

Nts,

I recently ran across this oak, and I’m trying to figure out if it’s a hybrid, or if I’m just over-thinking a species I have limited experience with. The twin tree is growing in the floodplain of a small stream in the gulf coastal plain of southeastern Arkansas. It resembles shumard oak, which are common in the area, but the leaves are rather shallowly lobed, the lobes more squared off than expanded at the ends, the leaf base more wedge shaped than truncated, and the streaks on the bark are less pronounced than shumard oaks in the area. The leaf blades are often only around 3” long, but some are a good bit larger. The largest acorn in the photograph is one inch long without the stalk. Other red oak species in the area are, well, just about every red oak you can think of. There are water oak, willow oak, southern red oak, cherrybark oak, black oak, northern red oak, and a little blackjack oak at the site.
STA_4154.JPG
IMG_4153.JPG
IMG_4169.JPG
Jess

George Fieo

Re: A twin oak in Arkansas

Post by George Fieo » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:52 pm

Jess,

Definitely looks like red oak species and appears to be two individual trees. Perhaps the stress from the two fusing is affecting the bark/leaves in some way and may be a species common to the area.

George

DougBidlack

Post by DougBidlack » Sun Jan 26, 2014 11:43 am

Jess,