new member John Seiler

A forum for new members to introduce themselves to the other members of ENTS. New users and guests can ask questions about ENTS and the ENTS BBS here.

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

jseiler

new member John Seiler

Post by jseiler » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:08 am

Hi everyone,

My name is John Seiler and I am a Professor of Forest Biology in the Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation at Virginia Tech. Neil Pederson told me about your group. We have on our campus a 15 acre remnant of old growth white oak. There are 56 trees over 36 inches and 5 over 50 inches. We have conformed ages over 300 years for several with a more thorough investigation planned. The stand dstructure is very much that of an old growth stand. The Atheletic Department is planning the building of a new indoor football practice facility that will detroy at least 5 acres of this stand. We have been fighting to save these trees and have won a few battles. At this point the university has delayed any action until June 1, 2012 when a committee will report on findings concerning the uniqueness of the stand and the impact of moving the football facility to another location. There is an on-line petition you can sign at:
http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/vtstadiumwoods/
Please consider signing it, writing a testimony or sending me e-mails that might help our cause. Statements from "experts" concerning the uniqueness of this area are particularly needed. My e-mail is jseiler@vt.edu. Thanks and spread the word.

dbhguru

Re: new member John Seiler

Post by dbhguru » Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:23 pm

NTS,

I just signed John's partition and urge all my lady and fellow Ents to do likewise. This is a very worthy cause.

Bob
Robert T. Leverett
Co-founder, Native Native Tree Society
Co-founder and President
Friends of Mohawk Trail State Forest
Co-founder, National Cadre

PAwildernessadvocate

Post by PAwildernessadvocate » Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:55 pm