My first "big" tree catch!

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

sradivoy

My first "big" tree catch!

Post by sradivoy » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:45 pm

I came across a nice red oak the other day on a busy road within the city limits of Cleveland proper. It measures (I'm new to this) a height of 65.9' with a girth of 221.5". As a novice I'm not proficient enough to identify for certain what specific species it is. I'm pretty sure it's either a Northern Red Oak or an Eastern Black Oak. Judging by the bowl shaped acorn cup I think it's the latter. Hopefully the following pictures will help you in positively identifying this very nice neighborly oak for me. Thanks for your help.
Attachments
016.JPG
015.JPG
014.JPG
013.JPG
012.JPG
004.JPG
003.JPG
002.JPG
001.JPG

edfrank

Re: My first "big" tree catch!

Post by edfrank » Wed Sep 10, 2014 11:20 pm

I would have called it a Northern Red Oak Quercus rubra because the leaves are not as indented as black oak, and the bark looks more like red oak to me. There isn't that much difference in the acorns. That being said, as soon as I post something like this there always seems to be a dozen comments explaining that it is really some other species.
"I love science and it pains me to think that so many are terrified of the subject or feel that choosing science means you cannot also choose compassion, or the arts, or be awe by nature. Science is not meant to cure us of mystery, but to reinvent and revigorate it." by Robert M. Sapolsky

sradivoy

Post by sradivoy » Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:39 am